top of page
  • Writer's pictureAna Gonzalez Ribeiro

Seeing life through a child’s eyes

Updated: Mar 17, 2019


Photo by Vanessa Bumbeers on Unsplash


For those of us with kids this might come easy, for those of us without kids, it may or may not, but let’s give it a try.

Have you ever stopped and wondered how life is through the eyes of a child? Oftentimes we get overwhelmed with life. As we grow up and get married, start working, become homeowners and have kids we forget. We forget how we used to see life…. through the eyes of a child. We are so busy with this or that, climbing the career ladder, what our neighbors are doing or what our family and friends think of us that we lose ourselves, our true selves, the pureness of our souls is lost in the hustle and bustle of everyday life.


Recently, I was reminded how beautiful life is by my 5-year-old son. To him, everything is new. He asks why this, why that constantly. He will wonder about why trains go fast, why they go slow, why it rains, why the sun shines. These questions have made me more aware of my surroundings and the life that revolves around us that we forget is there. His questions remind me of the wonderment I once had which has since faded away since my own childhood. He has helped me become more aware and present in today, not yesterday, not tomorrow, but today. He reminds me that every day is beautiful, that there is beauty all around us no matter what might be happening in the world and that there are good people in the world no matter what we constantly see in the news. He reminds me of the goodness, the beauty, the promise.


Let’s take some time today to take a few minutes and see the world again through the eyes of a child. The child we once were. You’ll be surprised at what you see.

47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

¿Que es Alfa 1 Antitripsina?

Alfa 1 antitripsina es una enfermedad genética que afecta a 1 de cada 1.500 a 3.500 individuos de ascendencia europea. Este trastorno puede causar enfermedades pulmonares y enfermedades del hígado, co

Kindergarten Jitters

On Friday I took my 4 1/2 year son to kindergarten. It was tough! My husband and I had been telling him that he was going to start school soon and we were diligently mentally preparing him for the occ

bottom of page